What Cities Are In Western Siberia

Table of contents:

What Cities Are In Western Siberia
What Cities Are In Western Siberia
Video: What Cities Are In Western Siberia
Video: Exploring Surgut, Western Siberia | Life in Siberia | Russia travel Vlog 2023, February

Western Siberia is a vast territory, which, for the most part, belongs to Russia, but some of it is also located in Kazakhstan. The largest cities in Western Siberia are Omsk, Novosibirsk, Surgut, Novokuznetsk, Tomsk, Kurgan, Kemerovo, Tyumen, Barnaul.

What cities are in Western Siberia
What cities are in Western Siberia


Step 1

Novosibirsk is one of the largest cities in Russia, the third largest. It is the administrative center of the entire Siberian Federal District, as well as the Novosibirsk Region. It is a cultural, industrial and scientific center, a major transport hub of the country. It was founded in 1893. Novosibirsk is often called the Siberian capital.

Step 2

Omsk is also a very large Siberian city, the center of the Omsk region. The city has a rich culture, it was even the capital of White Russia in 1918-1920 - a short-lived state that was formed on the ruins of the tsarist empire. Omsk is also the capital of the Siberian Cossacks. A lot of cultural attractions are concentrated in the city.

Step 3

Tyumen is the oldest Siberian city. It was founded in 1586. It is currently the capital of the Tyumen region. The city has an international airport and a major railway junction.

Step 4

Barnaul is the main city in the Altai Territory. Small but old, Barnaul received the status of a city in 1771. Currently, it is a large educational and cultural center of Siberia.

Step 5

Novokuznetsk is located in the Kemerovo region. It is the second largest city in its region. Located on the banks of the Tom River, in the Kuzbass. This is a very important city from an economic point of view, it houses one of the largest metallurgical enterprises in the country.

Step 6

Tomsk is the administrative center of the Tomsk region. It got its name in honor of the river Tom, on which it stands. One of the oldest scientific centers in Siberia. The city has many monuments of architecture, including wood, dating back to the 17th century.

Step 7

Kemerovo is the center of the Kemerovo region. The city is located in the southern part of Western Siberia. Stands in the Kuzbass (Kuznetsk coal basin). Two rivers flow through the city: Tom and Iskitimka. It is a large scientific, industrial and transport hub in Siberia.

Step 8

Kurgan is a very old city, it was founded in 1679. It is the center of the Kurgan region. It stands on the Tobol River, and most of the city is concentrated on the left bank. Despite its relatively small population, it is a significant economic center and an important transport hub for the country. Kurgan is known for its buses and medical achievements.

Step 9

Surgut is one of the largest river ports in Siberia. Large economic center. The city has a city-forming fuel and energy enterprise. There are also two power plants in Surgut, both of which are among the largest in the world.

Popular by topic