Regarding the new territories annexed to Moscow, there is a joke that, they say, they said Moscow was not rubber, but it turned out to be rubber: it stretched, stretched, trying to accommodate everyone, could not stand it, broke and flowed out. If you look at the new map of the capital, it looks like that. Moscow, always developing in a circle, suddenly lengthened and changed shape.
Moscow "spread" in the southern and southwestern directions, annexing the territory, which became known as the Troitsky and Novomoskovsky administrative districts.
The previously suburban towns of Troitsk, Moskovsky, Shcherbinka joined the "New Moscow". Its borders, up to the Kaluga region, included the Kaluga, Kiev and Borovskoe highways.
The annexed territories were swept by a wave of new buildings. The construction of new roads, interchanges, new lines and metro stations promises in the near future a convenient and trouble-free connection with the “old city”.
This part of young Moscow has an interesting, deeply rooted history, the memory of which has been preserved in various sites. There are quite a few modern, new places worthy of attention.
The most interesting are the well-preserved estates of Valuevo, Ostafyevo, Shchapovo, Dubrovitsy and Voronovo.
Valuevo - the estate of the Musins-Pushkins, whose guests were Vyazemsky and Pushkin, Karamzin and Zhukovsky. The estate has a beautiful landscape park with a cascade of ponds and century-old trees. The main manor house, grotto, outbuildings are in excellent condition. The manor houses a sanatorium. Notifying the security that you want to find out the conditions of being in the sanatorium, you can freely enter the territory or pay 100 rubles for a walk. The film "My affectionate and gentle animal" was filmed in the estate. Now it is one of the best and relatively inexpensive places where weddings take place.
The Ostafyevo estate is also known as the Russian Parnassus. It belonged to P.A. Vyazemsky, who were visited by the same Karamzin and Pushkin. Monuments to the great poet and the owner of the estate stand in the estate park. There is a museum in the main house. The park is partly regular, partly landscape. Tame squirrels live in it - beggars. The entrance fee to the estate is symbolic.
The Dubrovitsy estate is especially remarkable for the unique Church of the Sign of the Most Holy Theotokos - an example of Russian and Western European architecture of the late 17th century. The estate belonged to Prince S.V. Golitsyn and was built with the assistance of the Russian sovereign Peter I. The main manor house is well preserved, in the 19th century it was rebuilt in the classical style by later owners. Its interiors can be appreciated by newlyweds and their guests, since there is a registry office. There is no free entrance to the manor house. In summer, on weekends, festivals, fairs are held on the territory of the estate, barbecues are fried, a contact zoo, and attractions for children are working. The fabulous beauty of nature in the estate is enhanced by the interesting terrain, steep descents with stairs and observation platforms.
The Shchapovo estate bears the name of one of its owners. It has preserved the main house according to the project, presumably by Fyodor Shekhtel, cascading ponds, a stone bridge over a stream, trees - natural monuments, including a 400-year-old oak. In the historical building of the agricultural school there is a museum of the history of the estate.
The Voronovo estate, founded in the 16th century, is associated with the name of the governor of Moscow Fyodor Rostopchin, who, when the French approached Moscow in 1812, burned the main house with his own hand. Rostopchin attached a note notifying the enemy of the cause of the fire to the door of the Savior Church, which remained unharmed. After the war, the manor house was rebuilt, but on a smaller scale. A temple, a house, a park, and ponds have survived in the estate, but there is no free access to the territory, since it houses a closed sanatorium of the Ministry of Economic Development of the Russian Federation. We wait and hope.
The Krasnoye estate has belonged to the Georgian princes of Cherkassk since the 16th century. In the 18th century, the notorious Saltychikha lived in it, torturing and killing her serfs and punished for these crimes by Catherine II. In 1812, Kutuzov's headquarters was located in the estate, and later, Napoleon, retreating from Moscow. In memory of this time, there is a monument to the great commander in Krasnoye.
Another memorable place associated with the sad pages of the history of our country is located very close to the transport ring, on the other side of the Kaluga highway from the Gas Pipeline and Kommunarka. An inconspicuous secondary road adjoins the road to the region, leaving to the right. It will lead to a lopsided fence, on which a sign informs that behind it there is a monument of history "Special object Kommunarka".
This place was listed as the dacha of the head of the OGPU Heinrich Yagoda, but in fact it was a shooting range, where for the period 1937-1941. up to 14 thousand repressed were destroyed. The exact number and names of the victims have not been clarified until today.
In addition to politicians and statesmen, the victims of Kommunarka were scientists, engineers, priests, the entire government of Mongolia, and ordinary citizens. There are two memorial crosses and two memorial signs on the territory.
In 1999, the territory was declassified and transferred to the Russian Orthodox Church. In 2007, the Church of the New Martyrs and Confessors of Russia was consecrated here. The preserved house of Yagoda is the home of the church clergy. It is never crowded here, and that's why the priest is attentive and glad to any visitor who shows interest and respect.
This is not the whole list of places and sights of New Moscow. There is good fishing here for good money, and there is also a free sports park in Krasnaya Pakhra with football and volleyball fields, playgrounds and places on the river bank, where there is a culturally arranged space to relax with family or friends, to grill barbecue. There is even a zoo at the 47th kilometer of the Kaluga highway, which, of course, is more interesting in the summer.